WhatsApp, which is owned by Meta, is working on a new feature that would allow group admins to erase messages sent to other members of the group.
When an admin deletes a message, the user will receive the notification “This was deleted by an admin,” according to WhatsApp tracker WABetaInfo.
It will be possible to erase any message for everyone in your groups in a future release of WhatsApp beta for Android, according to the WABetaInfo Twitter account.
An accompanying screenshot shows how an Android user’s phone will display a message erased by a group admin. It will be easy for group administrators to remove vulgar or inappropriate communications once the feature is implemented.
On the browser and desktop, WhatsApp is also working on two-step verification.
WABetaInfo claims that WhatsApp wants to implement two-step verification to desktop and browser versions in the near future.
WhatsApp’s mobile app already has two-step verification enabled, requiring users to provide a personal PIN when registering their phone number.